Connect with us


Carabao Cup first round draw: Leeds to take on Shrewsbury Town

The draw for the first round of the Carabao Cup competition has now been made, and Leeds United are set to host League One opposition in the form of Shrewsbury Town.

The Whites were originally meant to enter the competition during its second round stage, but West Ham’s qualification for the Europa League last season forced the West Yorkshire club to enter earlier than expected.

The announcement comes after the fixture list for all Championship sides were released earlier this morning.

After beginning their league campaign with a home clash against Cardiff City on Sunday 6th August, Elland Road will also play host to the encounter with Shrewsbury just days later – with all first round matches to be played in the week commencing on the 7th August.

The last time the two sides met was in the same League Cup competition in 2012 – a match which saw the Whites demolish the Shrews 4-0 with goals from Luciano Becchio, Luke Varney, David Norris and Ross McCormack.

Leeds reached the third round of the Carabao Cup last season, which saw their campaign ended by a 1-0 defeat to Wolves at Molineux.

The full draw is as follows:

Southern section

Plymouth vs Leyton Orient

Forest Green Rovers vs Portsmouth

Swansea City vs Northampton Town

Exeter City vs Crawley Town

Ipswich Town vs Bristol Rovers

Newport Country vs Charlton

Stevenage vs Watford

Cheltenham Town vs Birmingham City

Sutton United vs Cambridge United

MK Dons vs Wycombe Wanderers

Millwall vs Reading

AFC Wimbledon vs Coventry City

Bristol City vs Oxford United

Gillingham vs Southampton

QPR vs Norwich City

Peterborough United vs Swindon Town

Cardiff City vs Colchester

Northern section

Notts County vs Lincoln City

Bolton Wanderers vs Barrow

Hull City vs Doncaster

Mansfield Town vs Grimsby Town

Stoke City vs West Bromwich Albion

Sheffield Wednesday vs Stockport County

Leeds United vs Shrewsbury Town

Preston North End vs Salford City

Rotherham United vs Morecamb

Harrogate Town vs Carlisle United

Burton Albion vs Leicester City

Derby County vs Blackpool

Port Vale vs Fleetwood Town

Blackburn vs Walsall

Huddersfield vs Middlesbrough

Wrexham vs Wigan

Sunderland vs Crewe

Click to comment
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Must See