Leeds Rhinos confirm side for pre-season friendly with Featherstone Rovers

Picture by Allan McKenzie/SWpix.com

Richard Agar has confirmed his side for tomorrow’s pre-season friendly with Featherstone Rovers.

To the surprise of some, Leeds announced a strong squad for the fixture yesterday including two of their four major signings in the shape of Blake Austin and Aidan Sezer. Meanwhile key players like Mikolaj Oledzki and Kruise Leeming also featured. All four of these big names are now set to play in tomorrow’s game with Agar confirming his side this morning.

There’s just one change along the Rhinos’ backline with Liam Tindall stepping in on the wing in place of Ash Handley who scored twice as skipper on Boxing Day. Tom Briscoe still persists at centre alongside Harry Newman whilst Jack Broadbent will again feature on the wing. David Fusitu’a again doesn’t feature and is set to debut against Hull FC in Briscoe’s testimonial in two weeks.

Briscoe will likely face off against brother Luke tomorrow as he makes his second debut for the Rovers having returned to the club after three and a half seasons at Headingley.

Agar has again named his strongest halfback pairing with Blake Austin and Aidan Sezer again lining up alongside one another at stand-off and scrum-half. Perhaps a risky move if one gets injured however both will be looking to prepare for a solid season next year.

The front row is the same as on Boxing Day with Mikolaj Oledzki and Zane Tetevano again starting at prop lending credence to the notion Tetevano could shift to the front row in 2022. Rhyse Martin makes a return to the side after not playing in the festive friendly against Wakefield and is joined by Morgan Gannon in the backrow whilst Cameron Smith again starts at loose-forward.

Meanwhile, Tom Holroyd returns to the side on the bench alongside Alex Mellor who is interestingly dropped from the starting 13 having started against Wakefield.

Meanwhile, the likes of Sam Walters, Jarrod O’Connor, Jack Sinfield and Oli Field have been left out of the initial 17.

Here’s the team in full:

16 Richie Myler
29 Liam Tindall
3 Harry Newman
20 Tom Briscoe
23 Jack Broadbent
6 Blake Austin
7 Aidan Sezer
8 Mikolaj Oledzki
9 Kruise Leeming
13 Zane Tetevano
21 Morgan Gannon
12 Rhyse Martin
17 Cameron Smith
14 Brad Dwyer
15 Alex Mellor
18 Tom Holroyd
19 Bodene Thompson

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments